Skip to Content
Put Our Team in Your Corner 855-757-4204

What is the Glasgow Coma Scale?

When Results Matter Most, Hire a Heavyweight
Doctor examining patient in hospital bed

Did you know that there is a scale used to measure the severity of a traumatic brain injury? This scale, known as the Glasgow Coma Scale, uses a variety of factors to determine the level of impairment. In this blog post, we'll go over what the Glasgow Coma Scale is and how it's used.

Glasgow Coma Scale

The Glasgow Coma Scale is a tool that is used to assess the level of consciousness in a person who has suffered a traumatic brain injury. The GCS was developed more than 40 years ago by two neurosurgeons from Glasgow. It is based on three factors: eye-opening, verbal response, and motor response.

The scale ranges from 3 (indicating the deepest level of coma) to 15 (indicating full consciousness). A score of 8 or below indicates a severe brain injury, while a score of 9-12 indicates a moderate brain injury. Anything 13-15 indicates a mild TBI. The Glasgow Coma Scale can help predict the outcome of a traumatic brain injury and guide treatment decisions.

Glasgow + Children

Because young children do not have developed language skills, the GCS is typically not used with them. They have a Pediatric GCS, which is a modified version of the one used on adults.

Recent Brain Injury?

Traumatic brain injuries can harm all aspects of a victim's life. The physical, emotional, and financial consequences can be overwhelming. The Lanier Law Group, P.A. has the resources and experience to help victims and their families cope with the aftermath of a traumatic brain injury. We will aggressively pursue those responsible for your injuries and hold them accountable.

If you or someone you love has suffered from a traumatic brain injury, please contact us today for a consultation. You can reach our firm at (855) 757-4204 or fill out a consultation request form to get in contact with one of our attorneys.