Skip to Content
Put Our Team in Your Corner 855-757-4204

Who is Entitled to Social Security Death Benefits?

When Results Matter Most, Hire a Heavyweight

Social Security death benefits are available to people who have lost a member of their family. Those who can receive Social Security death benefits include:

  • Spouses
  • Disabled Spouses. Disabled spouses often start receiving benefits at age 50
  • Divorced Spouses. You must have been married for 10 years and are now over the age of 60 to receive death benefits. If you got remarried before you turned 60, you might be eligible for something called survivor benefits instead.
  • Minor Children. Children who are under the age of 18 and unmarried usually qualify for survivor benefits, as do stepchildren, grandchildren, and adopted children under certain circumstances. Children who became disabled before the age of 22 also usually qualify for Social Security benefits.
  • Dependent Parents. Dependent parents can apply for these benefits, but must usually document and explain why they are disabled or cannot work, as well as why they have been dependent on their family for support.

At Lanier Law Group, P.A., we know you've just been through a terrible ordeal. The last thing you need is to get caught up in the Social Security Administration's red tape. A North Carolina Social Security lawyer at our firm can help you apply for death benefits and assist you in gathering all the documents you'll need, which likely includes a copy of the death certificate, marriage certificate, and birth certificates for minor children. Let us help take the burden off your shoulders. Contact Lanier Law Group, P.A. today by calling (855) 757-4204!

Share To: